As the newest Director of Debate at William Jewell College, I want to thank you for taking an interest in our program. Since 1873, Jewell debate has remained one of the longest running and most successful programs on campus. Jewell has won multiple intercollegiate debate national championships and is consistently ranked as one of the best debate teams in the nation. We compete in parliamentary debate, regularly attending the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence (NPTE) and National Parliamentary Debate Association (NPDA) national tournaments. The team travels regionally and nationally—including trips to California, Colorado, Oregon and Texas—in addition to attending both major parliamentary debate national championships.

Every year, Jewell hosts the national opener for parliamentary debate (Georgia B. Bowman Invitational), drawing top schools from across the country. Our program enjoys the continued support of the Board of Trustees, administration, faculty and staff of William Jewell College. The College consistently acknowledges the benefit of competitive debating to a liberal arts education—our team produces students with extraordinary speaking, research, critical thinking and advocacy skills.

During the competitive season, our squad members often volunteer their time to judge at local National Forensic League tournaments and with the Urban Debate League/DEBATE-KC. After graduation, Jewell debaters regularly achieve success in the private sector, academia and in public service. We also regularly produce students that find themselves accepted to Top 20 law school and graduate school programs. Our coaching staff acknowledges that competition is a means to achieve a specific end, not the end itself. While we are concerned with your success in debate, we are primarily concerned with setting you up for success after you leave William Jewell College.

If you are interested in becoming part of a successful tradition of Jewell debate, please do not hesitate to contact me. Please like our Facebook page to receive updates from the team and full results from all tournaments.

Kyle Dennis
Interim Director of Debate
Instructor of Communication