Cardinal Sports
Hilltop Monitor
Campus Map
Media Resources

 Recent News...
Jewell debate team enjoys continued success
Contact: Rob Eisele816-415-7574
October 26, 2011

Despite having three weeks off from competition, the Jewell debate squad continued their winning season at McKendree University by winning the Top School award at two tournaments October 14-16 on the university campus in Lebanon, Ill. Along with winning top honors, the squad also broke a Jewell record, the second milestone this year.

After a great start to the season at the national opener hosted at William Jewell in September, the debate squad continued its success by advancing a total of 13 teams to elimination rounds in the two tournaments combined, more than any other school. At the Bearcat Classic October 14-15, the squad set a College record by advancing seven teams in the open/varsity division to elimination rounds.

“Having set two different College records, the season could not be going better,” said Kevin Garner, assistant debate coach. The records set included the most teams advancing to the elimination rounds for both the open/advanced and junior varsity divisions combined, and the most teams advancing to the elimination rounds for the open/advanced division.

The team of Andrew Potter (senior, Buhler, Kan.) and David Dingess (senior, Denver, Colo.) advanced to the Championship Round, placing second. Jewell also had six teams in the Sweet Sixteen round, with the debaters including Kyle Mellon (junior, Norman, Okla.); Matt Reisener (junior, Indianola, Iowa); Stephen Ahal (first-year, Chesterfield, Mo.); Rosemary Loehr (junior, Kansas City, Mo.); Spencer Shanks (sophomore, Kearney, Mo.); Tyler White (junior, Independence, Mo.); Taylor Greene (sophomore, Bixby, Okla.); David Sanchez (sophomore, Liberty, Mo.); Rodney Chowning (sophomore, Belton, Mo.); and Michael Lacombe (senior, South Sioux City, Neb.). Also advancing to elimination rounds were Brit Isbell (first-year, Monett, Mo.) and Wesley McKellar (first-year, Kansas City, Mo.).

At the Richard Hunsaker Invitational on October 15-16, the Jewell squad continued to dominate the field by advancing the teams of Dingess and Potter and Mellon and Reisener to the Elite Eight round. Once again, the squad had six teams in the Sweet Sixteen round, including Maigan Bridgette (first-year, Leavenworth, Kan.), Greene, Ahal, Loehr, Shanks, White, Chowning and Lacombe.

The debaters also took home individual speaking honors with Potter, Dingess, Mellon, Reisener, White and Shanks all ranking in the Top 20 individual speakers throughout the tournaments.
Throughout the weekend, the Jewell squad defeated teams from such schools as Loyola University, McKendree University, Washburn University, and University of Texas-Tyler.

William Jewell College is committed to bringing together talented students and gifted faculty mentors within a vibrant community sparked by a rigorous and intentional liberal arts curriculum. A full range of personal and professional development experiences are presented by the selective national liberal arts college’s location within the Kansas City metroplex of more than two million.

Go to News Page




Achieve Magazine

 Faculty Experts Guide
 An easy reference directory of 
 Jewell Faculty and their areas
 of expertise.


 Media Contact
 Cara Dahlor
 Director of Communication






 Academics  |  Admissions  |  Distinctives  |  Campus Life  |  Athletics  |  Alumni & Friends
News & Publications  |  Important Dates  |  Contact Us

500 College Hill - Liberty, MO 64068
Office of Admission: 1-888-2-JEWELL
AllofE Solutions