Jewell’s Mortar Board chapter receives national honor

William Jewell College’s Panaegis chapter of Mortar Board received national recognition at the Mortar Board National Conference, held July 22-24 in Indianapolis.

The chapter was among those who received the Silver Torch Award, which was presented to 34 chapters for making accomplishments in the areas of scholarship, leadership and meaningful service to their institutions, as well as meeting other national criteria and deadlines. Brian Kongs, of Topeka, Kan., serves as Jewell’s chapter president, and Maggie Sherer, professor and chair of physics, serves as chapter advisor.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, more than a quarter of a million members have been selected for membership at 231 chartered throughout the nation. The Panaegis chapter at William Jewell College was chartered in 1978.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

Media Contact
Cara Dahlor
Director of Communication