Majors & Programs
Academic Calendar
Student Life
Financial Aid
Study Abroad
The Registrar
Academics Home


 Prestigious Honors

Fulbright U.S. Student Program
Paige Bolduc, a 2013 Oxbridge literature and theory honors graduate, was awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program scholarship to Japan in Literature for 2013-14.

Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential. She is studying at Nagoya University in the Graduate Department of Languages and Cultures.  |  Read More 

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship
Samuel Joseph Endicott, a 2011 Oxbridge science graduate, received the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for 2009.

Endicott was selected on the basis of academic merit and scientific research potential from a field of more than 1,000 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premiere undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

Teach for America
Teach For America is the national corps of outstanding recent college graduates who commit to teach for at least two years in urban and rural public schools and become lifelong leaders in expanding educational opportunity. typically about 10 percent of applicants are chosen from a pool of 35,000-40,000 candidates.

Jewell's recent selections to this prestigious corps include:
Anna Mahoney '11, elementary education major: named to 2013-15 corps
Meredith Moore '12, psychology and ACT-In major: named to 2013-15 corps
Michael McClanahan '12, biology and ACT-In major: general science in Kansas City
Christy (Kleinbeck) Murphy '02: named to 2012-14 corps in St. Louis elementary school
Alex Hart '10, international business and language and ACT-In major: high school math in San Antonio, Texas
Alyssa Emery '09: special education in Tulsa, Okla.
Alyssa Brzuchalski '11, elementary education major: Kansas City schools
Abby Hauver '11, international relations major: Kansas City schools

William Sloane Coffin, Jr. Scholarship

Elizabeth Bonney, a 2009 graduate, was awarded The William Sloane Coffin, Jr. Scholarship for full tuition at Yale Divinity School.

She completed the three-year program and, in 2012, was named one of 20 Wexner Fellows in the country. The fellowship helped fund her six-year rabbinical studies at Hebrew College near Boston.

Debate Team

Jewell’s debate program remains one of the most competitive programs in the country. The team won the 2014 national championship after beating 151 teams from 53 colleges and universities at the National Parliamentary Debate Association National Championship Tournament. In 2013, Jewell was the No. 2 team in the country.

Kevin Garner, Jewell director of debate and instructor of communication, is a Jewell alumnus and won a 2007 national debate championship with his debate partner. |  Read More

College Newspaper Recognition
The William Jewell College campus newspaper, The Hilltop Monitor, won 14 awards at the Missouri College Media Association 2014 annual banquet.

Students received awards in categories such as columns, news writing and in-depth news reporting, sports writing, entertainment review, editorial writing and investigative reporting.





What is ACT-In?









 Academics  |  Admissions  Outcomes |  Campus Life  |  Athletics  |  Alumni & Friends
News & Publications  |  Important Dates  |  Contact Us |  Search

500 College Hill - Liberty, MO 64068
Office of Admission: 1-888-2-JEWELL
AllofE Solutions