William Jewell College has been certifying teachers for the State of Missouri since 1914 and has held membership in the American Association of College of Teacher Education (AACTE) since 1959. Literally thousands of Jewell prepared teachers have educated the children of Missouri. The Education faculty is proud of that heritage but continuously monitors changes in education to insure that every teacher we prepare is ready to effectively teach the students of today.

William Jewell teacher education challenges students to go beyond their own learning experience to understand how to teach every learner. In a rigorous program of study, teacher education students learn in-depth how children and adolescents develop and learn.  Our teacher education students then apply that knowledge to instructional planning and delivery in four required field experiences in schools prior to student teaching. With downtown Kansas City only twenty minutes away, field experiences are in diverse urban, rural and suburban settings, giving future teachers a broad spectrum of real world experiences.

Teachers prepared at William Jewell quickly assume leadership roles in schools. Many of our graduates have been school or district “Teacher of the Year”, Missouri STARR teachers, or achieved the prestigious National Board Certification.

William Jewell teacher education programs have been approved by the Missouri State Board of Education in the following fields:

Elementary Education 1-6

Secondary (grades 9-12) Programs:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Education
  • Social Studies
  • Speech & Theatre

K-12 Programs:

  • Art
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Instrumental Music
  • Vocal Music

Successful completion of any of these programs of study leads to Missouri teacher certification in that field/grade level.

 Academics  |  Admission  |  Outcomes  |  Campus Life  |  Athletics  |  Alumni & Friends
News & Publications  |  Important Dates  |  Contact Us

AllofE Solutions