Jewell Debate

William Jewell Debate is one of the longest running and most successful programs on campus. Our program enjoys the continued support of the Board of Trustees, administration, faculty and staff because of the consistency at which the debate program is able to deliver Jewell’s promise of a rigorous, small-group liberal arts education. Jewell consistently acknowledges the benefit of competitive debating to a liberal arts education—we seek to produce students who exemplify thoughtful, disciplined public speaking, research, critical thinking and public advocacy skills.

Using the laboratory of nationally and regionally competitive debate competitions, you will be prepared to communicate with audiences ranging from highly-specific, limited-preparation competition environments to argumentation and advocacy intended for public audiences.

While the most successful members of the team come to Jewell with significant high school debate experience, all William Jewell students are welcome to join the debate team. Scholarships are available for students with substantial high school experience.

2017 Capital City Classic Top Individual Speaker

Haley Uttley earned the Top Individual Speaker award at the capital City Classic in November 2017 at Washburn University in Topeka, Kan. The award, a first for Jewell, was determined by speaker ranks from the judges, and Haley outperformed 61 other students.

Program of Champions

Jewell Debate produces national-level competitors.

  • 2016 NPDA National Tournament Champions

    David Hansen and Katelyn Johnson won the 2016 National Parliamentary Debate Association championship. Over a three-day period, the duo beat more than 170 debate teams from across the country. They finished 6-2 in preliminary rounds before advancing through the elimination rounds, beating a team from Southern Illinois University in the finals by a 7-0 judges decision. Another Jewell team made up of Mia Richardson and Stefanie Flood advanced to the elimination rounds. 

    Toggle Accordion